Red Ink and Rewrites Too

Duplicates online comments, to keep track.

WWdN: In Exile: pour it in my hand for a dime

leave a comment »

Thanks for the clip. We’ll sure miss Isaac Hayes and don’t recall seeing it. That sort of happened to me in Harlem in 1968. I was on “vacation” from summer camp Timber Lake with a brother from Roosevelt who was working there, I was the head dishwasher he drove the 50s Army jeep, 6’6″ (on the one hand thank the deity for Hummers, he was also the camp basketball star) and did the maintenance. I walked into the Harlem candy store for an egg-cream (a NYC drink of chocolate syrup some milk and seltzer) then realized all I had was a $20, and the white guy behind the counter let me have it for free after alerting everyone, the guys hanging out at the magazine rack, the only way out, that what did I expect he’d have change for a $20? I left the small change on the counter.

I was once followed home by a kid-brother of New York Golden Gloves boxer with a chip on his shoulder and spent three days in the hospital with my nose packed with cotton cord, and lo and behold the guy next to me had to call the nurses when I had once large giant sneeze! I actually had a cast on my nose.

Hope you get well soon, I did that fall in an archaeology survey of the Republic Airport, last year, a part abandoned when they put the second runway in, near th blimp mast. Caught my foot in a buried wire fence under some undergrowth and almost landed face first on a liquor bottle. Lucky my left had braced my fall. Did it again on a woody vine on the old street there when a B-24 and a P-51 landed out of nowhere rushing to see WT? Shut your mouth…Shaft.

WWdN: In Exile: pour it in my hand for a dime

Written by georgejmyersjr

08/25/2008 at 1:31 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

